YetAnotherDave

[C] Problem burning gapless from FLAC

I've been using CDBurnerXP for a few years, and generally find it very good. However, if I burn from FLAC files and clear the "A pause for n seconds between all tracks" option to burn gapless, then each track has a sort of "false start" - a fraction of a second from the start of the track, then a brief silence, and then the track starts properly.

If I leave the box checked, I can burn from FLAC with no problems, and if I convert to WAV first, I can burn gapless with no problems. I have checked that I have the latest version of the FLAC codec. I reverted to an earlier version of CDBurnerXP, but had the same problem.

I'm using Windows 7 64 bit, the drive is HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GH50N.

It sounds a bit strange to me that you would be able to burn WAV files fine. CDBurnerXP is in fact also converting the FLAC files to WAV first, independently of the "paus" settings. Maybe you can check if the WAV files generated by CDBurnerXPX inside the %temp% folder are playing properly on their own to narrow down the cause of the issue?

Thanks for responding floele, and sorry for my own slow response - the reply notification went into my spam folders, I've only just found it.

Something I don't understand is happening. If I create an audio CD project, add FLAC (or MP3) files to it, and burn, the TempRips folder is being created within my %temp%, but no files are written to it - yet the CD is stil burned!

It should create folders inside this location and then put the files into the subfolders. No subfolders appearing either? Shouldn't be able to burn then.

Yes, that's the part that doesn't make sense to me.