Sign in to follow this  
symphony

I won't try it - sadly

Hi everyone,

I was looking for a freeware alternative for Nero. I've found a topic about this CDBurnerXP on a site's forum, and i started to download.

While downloading, a spotted the news, and took a visit to the forum, and the version history. The result is: cancel download...

Why? Two versions available for public (as i know):

Version 3.5.101.4 - 2005/01/26 (public alpha)

and

Version 3.0.116 - 2004/10/3

Both of them is *quite* old, which is actually not such a big problem. If any one of them is bug free (of course not literally - i'm a coder myself in .NET, and i know this is almost impossible) then there is no problem. Running through the forum found bugs which might be fixed in the upcoming version - that is 3.5. 3.5 is an alpha which is almost a year old - i won't use that to backup anything. To make things short: i cannot find a public version which i can trust. Than i had the idea to donate, for support, and get a fine version...

Than i ran into some topics about CDBurnerXP does not support any other filenames than english, which is not mentioned anywhere like warning, or something. Just this: "non-ASCII charcters are not displayed or burned correctly" is not enough.

Sorry guys, that does it. :( The site, the screenshots, the layout, the design, the idea, the concept all was fine. The features, the support is cool. The team looks cool. But not enough for me...

I won't give any ideas, any suggestions, as i read you all know your job, have your *politics*. Also won't ask the heck question when there will be ... (I hate that too :))

This is freeware, and you put in there a great amount of work, which anyone can only say thank you. Seems like a nice project, i WILL check on you later. :wink:

Good luck, and keep up the good work! :)