Sign in to follow this  
ColourOz

Dual Layer Burning

I am new to CDBurnerXP and so far, love the program. It is simple and most of all, user-friendly. However, I am having problems with burning dual-layer disks. My OS is Windows 7 x64. Does anyone have suggestions why I am making so many frisbies? Help would be appreciated. ColourOz

Yes sure. I have 2 optical drives. Each time I want to copy one disk to another, a message appears that "an error occurred". The disk has no protection. This problem also occurs when I copy data to a DL. I have now wasted 10 DLs. I have also changed discs from Ritek to Verbatum, but still, the problem occurs.

I'm afraid the problem is with your drive. All the laptop drives start malfunctioning after some months of use. They're not as robust as those of the desktops. I had the same problem a few months ago especially with dvd-dl like you, and after discussing it in some forums, I replaced the drive and the problem was solved. Now it works fine in my Win 7 64bit.

I am not using a laptop. I am referring to my desktop. I have a brand-new blu-ray burner in addition to 2 optical DVD drives which give me an error when burning DL as well. This is terribly frustrating as I have burnt over 10 frisbies now. Maybe this is a problem with Windows 7 x64...?

I get part of the way with the burning, ie. 21%, 41% and the like then a message appears:

"An error occured while burning the disk. Most likely the disk is not useable. Usually, these errors happen if the inserted media is not compatible to the drive or is of poor quality. Details: Internal SDK error:"