Sign in to follow this  
Guest e-d

[X] "Ignore previous sessions" and free space

Guest e-d

Hi,

My usual workflow is to have a DVD+RW drive with data written on it, that I use to overwrite with some new data. Now if I want to overwrite it in CDBurnerXP it's a bit cumbersome, because the program still counts the current data that is on the DVD, even if I obviously don't need it and want to overwrite it. So if there is 3GB of data on the DVD I can't add 3GB to the Data compilation, because the program will count as if I'm trying to write 6GB. I'd have to erase the disc first, which is an unneded waste of time.

I'm new to CDburnerXP, so maybe I'm missing something. But I think that "Ignore previous sessions" should do just that, ignore the current data on the DVD and see the DVD drive as empty.

Guest e-d
You can add 3GB even if CDBXP tells you that there is not enough free space.

Well yeah, I can add, but I can't burn without -manually- erasing first.

I'd also rather see the exact view of how much space is available, not counting the data on the DVD, which will get overwritten anyway.

Guest e-d

Yeah, erasing automatically would be cool. (I guess you can't just overwrite?... it looks like that in some other programs.)

Nope, you can't overwrite. And erasing it automatically is - as you might releasie - quite dangerous. However, CDurnerXP will automatically *ask* you to erase it, so it's a rather painless process.

Guest e-d
And erasing it automatically is - as you might releasie - quite dangerous.

But this is exactly what happens currently. (for +RW, at least) It actually looks like it just overwrites, too. I don't see too many complains. ;)

CDurnerXP will automatically *ask* you to erase it, so it's a rather painless process.

Do you plan to implement this or does this happen with -RW disks?*