Hi, I am new to DVD's I am trying to record a data disc. The disc capacity is 4.7 GB. I calculated that the files I wanted to record totaled 4.383 GB. Yet, when I tried to finalize the disk, I got a message: There is not enough free space on the disc. Do you want to erase it now?" So I erased files which totaled 852 MB. This left 3.531 GB to record. Yet, when I tried to finalize the disk, it still told me not enough free space. What is the problem? Thanks for your help.

Can you show me the screenshot of that dialog? It usually tells you how much space is available and how much space is required, from that information it should be possible to determine whether the amount of data you burn is too high for the disc type.

• 1 month later...
Guest Guest

Hi,

The 'No Free Space' issue occurs for me as well when using the command line tool: cdbxpcmd.exe

Is there a fix for this? I've tried installing the latest version (cdbxp_setup_4.4.0.3018.exe), but still has the issue.

Thanks for any info!

Guest Guest

Hi floele,

here's the command line output:

Starting to write disc...1599 Files, Size: 681.27 MB

An error (289) occured while executing the command: Disc no free space

No free space

Thank you!

Guest Guest

Hi Flo,

the correct drive should be selected because i first check which drive has a disc in it. The kind of disc i used were generic JVC CDR.

Thank you for helping.

Guest Guest

Hi Flo,

when the disc is loaded in the drive, the properties of the DVD RW drive states the disc has 702 MB of free space. So it should be enough to burn 681 MB of data.

Guest Guest

Hi Flo,

less data works, but the threshold seems to fluctuate. So to be safe, I would have to limit my data size to 400MB, which is not efficient because I would have to span to additional CDs. I say the threshold fluctuate because the size reported by CDBurnerXP doesn't match up with the size when I right-click my data folder and check the properties. CDBurnerXP always report a greater size.