Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
oogla

File locks since upgrading.

Recommended Posts

After allowing CDBurnerXP to upgrade to 4.5.0.3685 today I'm seeing file locking problems after a burn. Once the data DVD burn and verify complete and I'm back to the main GUI window, I can no longer the delete files that I just burned from my hard drive until I exit out of CDBurnerXP. If I try to delete a file I just burned, Windows says the file is in use. Unlocker shows that CDBurnerXP is holding the file lock.

Closing the compilation is not sufficient to free the locks, I have to completely exit CDBurnerXP before I can delete the files. This worked fine prior to upgrading today, though I'm not sure what version I was at before. I think the last time I let CDBurnerXP update was a couple of months ago.

This is on Windows XP Pro SP3 32bit.

Anyone else having this problem? Is there any workaround? Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for the response. I backlevelled to an older release for the time being as the change in behavior was making every disk burn take several more steps. Not a major issue, but somewhat annoying.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello, thanks for the reply. It was always handy to delete the files I burned in the top (explorer-like) section of CDBurnerXP while still having the compilation in the bottom section to refer to to see what files I had just burned. Particularly when burning a large number of smaller files from multiple directories where I'm not burning all of the files from those directories.

As it is now with the file locks, I have to close the CDBurnerXP (or the compilation, as you suggest). I then open an explorer window to display the contents of the DVD, and another to navigate around my hard drive deleting files. Like I said, it's not a major problem, just a change from how things used to work that I find annoying.

CDBurnerXP is still an amazing piece of software.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK. I see what you are trying to do, but at the same time we also have users who accidentially delete files before starting the burning process, which then results in a failure. In general, I consider locking to be the safer option.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.