Sign in to follow this  
aeon

Error closing disc - session oversize?

Hi I am new to CDBurnerXP Pro - Usually a Nero man - generally I like what I see!

I have done 7 CD-ROM discs so far and have had a couple of errors at the end of the burn process after the 'closing disc' prompt as follows:

Writing Error: (3) Error closing disc

Drive could not position media (1017).

Error Sense Data: SENSE KEY: 3 ASC: 15 ASCQ: 0

These seem only to have happened on larger compilations of about 695mb of data. I am writing to 700mb fuji media on WinXP Home on an HP Pavillion wih an AMD Athlon 2800+ at 2.08Ghx and 1Gb RAM. The recorder fitted is a Samsung SW-248F

The discs themselves do seem to play OK but I guess they were not properly 'closed'? Does the message indicate that there was not enought space on the disc to finish the write-out process? If so perhaps I should not be allowed to burn a disc with this much data on it?

A couple of other things: -

1) I think I am right in saying that if 'burn and close the disc' is checked on the drop-down, clicking burn comes up with the write dialog where this option is NOT checked.

2) On every occasion that I have burn a disc at the end of the process when the write dialog is closed there is a message displayed 'cannot complete the CD writing wizard' asking what to do next... I have always cancelled this and though it is perhaps understandable that it displays when there is an error I cannot figure why it also appears when things have gone through just fine?

1) I think I am right in saying that if 'burn and close the disc' is checked on the drop-down, clicking burn comes up with the write dialog where this option is NOT checked.

It might be that this error also indicates that the session could not be closed. I suggest you try another type of medium.

Guest Chemodan